Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

tminsquero75

Creating a Calculated Column to calculate monthly delta between cumulative totals

Good morning, 

I'm somewhat new to Power BI and am self taught. I do not have any programming or development experience as of yet.  

I need to create what I believe to be a calculated column in Power BI desktop. 

Fields Included:

• Hours (Number field, Cumulative Hours)
  • Reading Date (Always the last day of the month, sometimes there may be multiple readings in a month)
  • Container ID (We record the total cumulative hours for each Container on a monthly basis)

Criteria

• Difference of Cumulative Hours between to sequential months:
  • Example "Feb Hours = 98,597.3" - "Jan Hours = 97,979.8" = Monthly Hours =617.45
  • Container ID: 1
  • Reading Date 2/28/17
  • Hours: 98,597.3

The example below shows an instance where there is more than one in a month & a gap between 3 months

• Gap in first 3 values, Should ignore first value since they are not consecutive.  Calculation should start at 3rd reading
  • Multiple readings per month, should only calculate based on last reading of month and ignore other readings
  • Cumulative hours do not increase, unit was not running, value would be 0

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated, I think i gave enough information to be able to help. 

Container IDReading DateCumulative EOHCumulative ESSColumn1
112/31/201592000.01700.0Shows a gap between months, first calculation should be 9/30/16. 8/31/16 value should be null
18/31/201694869.51811.0
19/30/201695589.51811.0
110/31/201695944.81819.0 
111/15/201696384.61820.0Shows mutiple readings in a month, should only use last day of month reading
111/30/201696558.91823.0
112/31/201697241.41824.0 
11/31/201797979.81829.0