Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

aristen
Frequent Visitor

Conditional filtering date ranges - Help with import

Hey all.

Let me just start out by saying i am no expert in Dax/Power query, so if there is an obvious solution to my problem, i apologize. 

I have made a custom visual where I import data as a table, so I get each unique row. This is needed because I do some specific calculations on the data that is not directly available in power bi.

My source is a single table containing 3 different time series.

Time series 1 (T1) goes from 01-01-2017 to (now+15 days).

Time series 2 (T2) goes from 01-01-1940 to 01-01-2015.

Time series 3 (T3) goes from 01-01-1965 to 01-01-2016

T1 is the ‘live’ time series on which the user filters.

A user selects an date interval that says 01-03-2017 to 13-03-2017. The data that I need to get into my visual should be something like this:

T1: gets each row that has a date in the specific range.

T2: get each row that has the same day of year. IE get 01-03-1940, 01-03-1945, 13-03-1940, 13-03-1945 etc.

T3: same as T2, except the time span is +/- 10 days. So each row from 19-02 to 23-03

My problem is T3. I don’t know how to expand the date range for that time series.

Is this even possible through power bi or should I look into the data source and see if I can get that changed ?

And sorry if this question is a bit cryptic 😊

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @aristen,

So if the user selects 10.feb to 15.feb i would still get values from FactMeteorologyTimeseries from 01.Jan and forward.

Do you know why this is ?

Not like measures, calculate columns/tables are computed during database processing(e.g. data refresh) and then stored in the model, they do not response to user selections on the report.