Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

ajuanto
Frequent Visitor

Combine CSVs from Folder - Separate Function

Hi I am new to Power BI and I am facing an issue.

I have a Folder of csv files which I have to import. The csv files has readings of a electronic device,12-12-_2017_11-01-39.png

I imported the csv folder and I got such a screen

08-12-_2017_12-17-47.png

Then I tried to remove the unwanted columns 12-12-_2017_11-06-07.png

now I have a column that shows the sourse file that is in my case the csv file for eg-MFT_RB1_2017-08-08_11-26-56.csv

I am getting all the data i.e the combined data of over 100 csv file in one sigle table as shown above. I want to create diffrent tables for each csv files. I can do it manually by importing csv files seperately like this -

12-12-_2017_11-14-09.png

But when I am importing a folder I am getting a sigle combined table, I want to split the main table into tables=number of csv files and visualiye the output as above

(I got the above visualization by importing 6 csv one by one, which works perfect)

But when importing a complete folder I am getting one big table with all 100 csv combined and I want to create diffrent tables for diffrent csv like I did with the above visualization.

12-12-_2017_11-34-46.png

Also, I have over 100 csv files in the folder and if I add 50 more in the folder it should automatically create tables of those newly added csv files.

Can anyone help me with this?

3 REPLIES 3
Rfranca
Resolver IV
Resolver IV

hi, @ajuanto

1. Create the steps to image 1.
2. Add a custom column and enter the following function:

Csv.Document ([Content], [Delimiter = ",", Encoding = 1252])

be careful with the delimiter and not with the Binary column.
3. Expand this column that has a table, the new parent columns leave only the DATA (with the data)