Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

albertgarri
Frequent Visitor

Changing column graph displayed value

Hi everyone! 

I'm pretty new to power bi world, so my question might be obvious for most of you. 

My goal is to create an element similar to the one with the red box, that you can see on the following picture. But I don't know how should I do it. 

Question.png

My idea is that this "element" allow me to switch the value displayed on the colum graph. Thus, when someone clicks the price per unit box the graph will show "Price per unit" per "Food" data. 

My first guess was to use the slicer element, as I have done with the "Year" variable. However, the result obtained is not what I want. 

On next picture you can see the dataset I'm using (it's just a simple example of my real data). 

Question2.png

Thank you very much for your support 🙂

Albert

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @albertgarri,

I am sorry for inconvenience, I misunderstand your idea in above reply. The solution above is to create a new table using formula. While in this solution, please click the Enter Date, you will get the create table window, please type the values, you can rename the table name in highlighted background section. Click OK  you get Table4.

1.PNG

2.PNG

In the DAX formula, "Expected Value" is the measure name. Please right click your table->New measure, type the following statement is over-all.

Expected Value = 
IF(HASONEVALUE( Table3[Value]),
 SWITCH(VALUES( Table3[Value]),
 "Amount", SUM( Table4[Amount] ),
 "Amount spent", SUM( Table4[Amount spend] ),
 "Price per unit", SUM( Table4[Price per Unit] )
 ), "Please select only one value to display")

In your scenario, please replace Table3 name using your actual table name. Table4 is the new table name. Please replace it using your table name.