Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Calculating Date Difference between 2 or more dates using DAX

Hi. I'm new in to Power BI and I'm currently making a new column that would give me the latency(no. of days between each transaction) for every member (card number).  Our business rule defined the formula for latency as: 

For Example: A member has an accumulated 3 visits:

Visit3-Visit2 = Diff 1
Visit2 -Visit1 =Diff 2
Get average of all differences to get  value for latency

My data looks something like this:

sample.png

Given that data set, what DAX formula should I use? What if a member would incur more than 3 visits? I came across a script online but I am not sure if it's correct but I gave it a try in Power BI but I encountered an error. 

lagcolumn script.png

Tried it and I got this error:

code.png

I would really appreciate your help guys. I badly need this for a report presentation for my project. Thank you in advance! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-qiuyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous,

Based on your sample data, I have created .pbix for you. You can download it.

The issue that you got error because the DateDiff() requires only three parameters passed. You can create the calculated column like below:

Diff = var  d=CALCULATE(MAX('Table1'[Transaction Date]),FILTER('Table1','Table1'[Card No.]=EARLIER(Table1[Card No.]) && 'Table1'[Transaction Date]<EARLIER(Table1[Transaction Date])))
return IF('Table1'[Transaction Date]<d,DATEDIFF('Table1'[Transaction Date],d,DAY),DATEDIFF(d,'Table1'[Transaction Date],DAY))

Then create a measure like below to return average of those difference values for each Card No.

Latency = CALCULATE(AVERAGE(Table1[Diff]),FILTER(ALL(Table1),'Table1'[Card No.]=MAX('Table1'[Card No.])))

q1.PNG

Best Regards,