Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Langers1
Frequent Visitor

Average age of outstanding job in period

Hello,

Ive been using Power BI for the last 2 weeks so a I am fairly new at this, learnt a lot from the forums so thanks for all those that post solutions. I am struggling to find the solution though to calculate the average age of outstanding jobs up to a set period depending how the user drills down the date fields i.e. Year, Quater, Month, Day.

I.e. in January 2017 the average age of outstanding jobs was 50 days, March 2017 the average age of outstanding jobs was 48 days.

I have a table that has the Job Created Date (KPI_Job_Report [job_entry_date]) and the Job Completion Date (KPI_Job_Report[actual_comp_date]]), if the job is still open then 'KPI_Job_Report Aged'[actual_comp_date] is null.

Capture.PNG

The KPI_Job_Report table has a relationship with another table called Calender (Which is just a set table with calender dates in), this is joined using the KPI_Job_Report[actual_comp_date] and the calander table is used as the main filter and shared access in the dashboard. I am presuming for the report to work correctly i need to create a new table using the same data and link it to the Calander table using the actual_comp_date field (however in the case of where this is blank how do i take this into account, use an If function to create a new column so If [actual_comp_date] = blank(), Today(), [actual_comp_date]).

One other issue i have is that sometimes the Actual completion date is before the job raised date, this is also probably easy to fix so that the Datediff function can be used either by another if function or a filter where actual_comp_date<job_entry_date.