Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

BBIUser
Helper IV
Helper IV

All records are not displaying in the Shape Map & What type of Map visual best suits for this data?

Hi,

I am new to PBI Maps. I read through all the Microsoft articles which shows various Maps.

Now, I am prototyping using a Shape Map. Reason, I have a TopoJSON file with boundaries in it properly defined by our GIS Admin for the state, let's assume "Wisconsin" or "Illinois" .

Here is the sample data - which is actually a CSV file (Source) [Census Data]

2018-07-10_1552.png

1)  I need to use the colored columns in the map. 

Currently,

- Income1 is placed in Location

- County Name is placed in Legend

- Total is placed in Color saturation

2) I want to display the "TOTAL" column values (actual values as in CSV) in the shape map. How to do this?

3) I am not able to display/show all the records in the map. For example: I do not see Adams County in my Shape map. What might be the reason?

The Shape Map visual will plot up to a maximum of 1,000 data points. Is this the reason I am not able to show all the data?

4) Do I need to use some other 'Map' instead of Shape Map if the issue is because of the max 1,000 data points? If yes, which Map to use?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

5 REPLIES 5
v-yulgu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @BBIUser,

1) I think you should add a Text field which can uniquely identify area to "Location" of Map, like city name, country name or state name. Otherwise, the map cannot recognise the location name you added to this section and would display nothing.

2) It looks like we cannot show numeric on Map visual. Maybe you could add [Total] to "Tooltip", when you hover over a specific area, it would show corresponding total value.