Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

darius
Frequent Visitor

Trouble using the bootstrap-tree-view library in a project

Hello

I'm very new to Power BI, typescript, d3 and all that so please go easy on me.

I am trying to create a hierarchical tree which is collapsible and show all it's subcategories (children)

I have managed to push my datapoints into arrays of arrays (nested JSON format) so it can be displayed as a hierarchy

However, I want to use the bootstrap-tree-view library by Gijgo.com to display my data. The Checkbox Tree is exactly the look im going for. See pic below for the demo from Gijgocapture3.PNGThe troubles I'm having are how to implement this library into my Pbiviz project

capture4.PNG

I have already installed bootsrap and jquery using npm in the terminal

I also downloaded the bootstrap-tree-view library from npm using "npm i bootstrap-tree-view". The "bootstrap-tree-view" folder appeared in my node_modules folder as it should do. See pic above.

According to the "Getting started" part on https://www.npmjs.com/package/bootstrap-tree-view I should just be able to use jquery to fetch my div I want the tree inside and then use .tree({ dataSource:  ...)}

dataSource is the nested JSON im sending in to the function

I have no idea what I should include in the pbiviz.json file and also if I need some kind of typings for this to work. I've just given up on searching for the solution so I decided to ask here 

Any help or tips at all regarding this issue will help me a lot

I'm very new to all of this with a little experience in typescript and external libraries (First year of computer science, only did the absolute basic stuff)

tl;dr: how can I use a bootstrap custom library in a Power Bi Custom Visual project?

3 REPLIES 3
v-viig
Community Champion
Community Champion